July 8, 2010 – Digging the Footers

Welcome to the Heritage Farm Alpacas Blog!  This blog will chronicle the construction of  our new post and beam barn.  We took delivery of the material on June 17 during the wettest part of the year!  It was a major challenge getting the lumber unloaded.  I got stuck twice with the 12 ton forklift I used to unload the two semi trailers.  When I say stuck, I mean really stuck! I had the machine down to the undercarriage – about 3 feet deep!  I had to call a neighbor with a big quad dually 4 x 4 tractor to pull it out.

Because of the weather, the concrete contractors were delayed in getting the footers in.  They finally started July 8.  Below is a video of digging the footers.

This entry was posted in Post & Beam Barn. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment